a spoonful of sugar in the circle of life

I miss the 90's cartoons and will always cherish my Disney VHS collection…if only my VCR still worked

Visual Irony

on February 25, 2012

While searching for a picture of visual irony, I found a lot of obvious choices. There was an escalator leading to a gym, a New Hope Road sign posted above a Dead End sign, and a psychic fair cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances. The picture I chose was a little more subtle though (well, at least to me). At first I didn’t understand its significance, but then it basically slapped me across the face. The irony is the fact that it is a photograph. I not sure where this was taken or why there was a “no photography” sign, but obviously the photographer chose not to listen. If the rules had been followed, this photo could not exist. It’s kind of strange to think about.

You’re weird…but I like you,
Katie


10 responses to “Visual Irony

  1. Will Lugar says:

    I love quaintly meta things. I love this because of its subtle humor, because the most important thing about the photograph is that its content is only half the joke–the other half being the very fact that it is a photograph.

    I have a similar fondness for movies that have themes that are relevant to the nature of movies, and video games that subtly reference the fact that they are video games. The movie Inception, for instance, features computer-controlled dreams that share many aspects with movies–condensed timeframes, and a tendency for scenes to start in the middle of an event or conversation, and a principle stating that unrealistic or out-of-place elements may at least subconsciously distract from the illusion.

  2. Lol! I chose the picture of the escalator leading into the gym. I saw this one, and didn’t get it. Good job you!

  3. I love this. The photo itself is ironic because it was taken by a photographer disobeying what the sign said. It reminds me of the relationship between people and law. There are numerous laws in the world to limit people’s behaviors. Though most of them are successful, but others are often broken by people. That’s the reason why this picture exists.

  4. This is really funny! I was the same as Caitlin… I saw this, but didn’t really understand it so I skipped right over it. I love what you had to say about it though. And yes it is actually very weird to think about if the rules had been followed then that picture wouldn’t exist. That’s how I tend to feel on vacations when I taking a picture at everything I see, because I’m afraid if I don’t it won’t exist in my memory years from then. It’s a weird thought, but anyway… good job:)

  5. My Running Thoughts says:

    That’s a great image of irony! I always love pictures of people doing the exact opposite of what they are supposed to be doing.

  6. edwoodworth says:

    Is it the most ironic that you posted a photograph of a photograph of a no photography sign? It must be.

  7. I really like your choice on this!! I agree it is somewhat strange to think about the logic behind this, “illegal” picture.

  8. thelegend777 says:

    When I look at this picture it makes me wonder what the person who took the picture. I wonder if they felt hardcore after taking it.

  9. sam1521 says:

    perfect visual irony, the irony come from the actual picture, not from what the picture represents, genius

  10. inkpaperpen says:

    I love this! I think finding visual irony would be a lot of fun, actually. I love to take pictures.

Leave a comment